Support our Sponsors >> Thai Friendly | Pattaya News | Pattaya Unplugged | Buy a drink for Soi 6 Girls | Thailand 24/7 Forum | TPN Property | La La Land bar | NEW PA website | Subscribe to The Pattaya News |Pattaya Investigations | Rage Fight Academy | Buy/Sell Businesses | Isaan Lawyers | Siam Business Brokers | Belts Of Mongering - Mongering Authority | Add your Text or Event here

IGNORED

electricity comsumption strategy to keep the condo cool

filipef

I am a newbie when it comes to staying in a condo.

Due to some circunstances, my first one or two months i will have big expenses, so i have to take a more careful look on bills, like the electricity one.

I now stay in a condo facing north and i have been told that's better to keep it cooler. 

However, of course it gets too hot sometimes, so i have to combine the need of making it cool with the need of electric consumption saving.

Sometimes i keep the door slightly open, so the air can circulate. Some other times, i close all doors and backout curtains too, avoiding light and heat to come in.  In extreme case, i turn air con on, but i am aware it will reflects on the electric bill, if i am not frugal on that point.

This condo also has a celing fan, but i know nothing about it's consumptiom. Does any one know?

Any other strategy i should consider?

Get used to the heat….. avoid going in and out of air-con buildings as much as possible. Ride a motorcycle or baht buses.

Get a condo or an apartment with openings on at least two sides, several floors off the ground. Leave the air-con off, open it up and let the breeze circulate. Sleep naked, without a blanket.

I learned to live without air-con in the several years I lived in Thailand, and was much healthier for it.

• Like 3

22 minutes ago, filipef said:

Any other strategy i should consider?

The difference maintaining a comfortable temperature versus suffering like a convict in Bangkok Hilton is likely less than 1 ST but OFC,  U2Y.

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1