IGNORED

Shopping, shopping, shopping to turn up an ex-pat kitchen

I am an American. Before moving to Thailand last September, I would almost always cook at home in the US. I am an amateur home cook, but somewhat skilled within that category. I was going to return to the US to finish up matters and bring over some more of my cookware. Hello covid.

Speaking of the change to how we now live, I have begun cooking from home more often now and am in the process of turning up an ex-pat kitchen.

I thought I would begin recording my experiences and soliciting input from others who have experiences with this.

For a starter, I really do not like electric stove tops, but this is the only game in town. I currently do not have an oven, but that will change July 1st when we move to a condo with an oven in the kitchen. Looking forward to that, as I can begin to add some items to the dinner lineup such as a meat loaf recipe or finishing things in the oven to cut back on the amount of oil being used.

I like shopping at Villa Market. They have a very good quality of produce, seafood, and meats. They also carry many more American-centric items. Not the cheapest place in town, but I usually find what I am looking for. As an example, I like cooking with bone-in chicken thighs, primarily because they are hard to eff up. Many places sell only hind quarters.

Villa also has a decent lineup of spices. I do not like buying McCormick quality spices at a grocery store because of the uncertainty of the shelf time. In the US I would order spices from a specialty store in Seattle. The difference in quality is very noticeable. For now the Villa Market option will do.

I was a little surprised by some of the things I could not find at the VM.