IGNORED

New Canon S95

wetwillie

I have been looking at new cameras for a while and was just waiting for a sale on the S90. Went in to Best Buy today to take another look and the sales guy told me they just got the new S95 in so I decided WTF. Same price as the S90 @ $399 and this one has HD video mode (from what I can tell that seems to be the biggest difference from the S90).

Although I am a complete novice at photography I've been wanting to upgrade from my camera and spend a little more time experimenting with taking some pictures. I have a Kodak Z712 IS and while it takes great photos (IMHO, for what thats worth) it never performed well in poor lighting conditions plus it had some battery problems that just became unbearable. After reading some reviews and on here I decided to go ahead and splurge. Now I am 2 weeks from my upcoming trip so I get a chance to break it in right!!! :GrinNod1:

So does anybody have any tips for me. I know some of you guys take some great snaps and it was actually some of your comments that persuaded me to spring for the Canon so help me out here or any bad photos I take are your fault. 555555

Here are a few pics I took with it a couple of minutes ago. Of the last three the first was under normal lighting the second was dark with no flash and the last was dark with flash and all in auto.

IMG_0005R.jpg

IMG_0012R.jpg

IMG_0002R.jpg

IMG_0016R.jpg

IMG_0018.jpg

Edited by wetwillie

I've got the S90 and didn't bother using it too much when in Patt's. Didn't want any evidence. I will be bringing my Canon 7D and S90 on my trip to Angkor Wat in Nov and maybe hitting Patts depending on if Bangkok or other cultural sites are worth checking out in Thailand. It is a solid camera and I love the manual features you can use by twisting the front ring. Have fun!

I've got an S90 and since they're reasonably similar, let me suggest a few things: