IGNORED

Introduce yourself and some background on your Thai skills

LaaMok

I have been learning for about 2 years, my progress is slow but steady. I did know the alphabet and was getting into reading, but without much reading practice I am getting crap.

I have almost every learn thai resource, and i have spent more time, reading how to learn thai, rather than learning it.

Everyday I listen to audio lessons for practise, even if i cant pay full attention.

The best and most simple advice I have learnt, is that there is no easy way, you get back the effort you put it. Obvious I know, but i am guilty of looking for easy methods.

The best way to learn is the way children learn, straight from the bottom, starting with the alphabet, I have a massive advantage because i can get girls to spell things out over the phone, if i dont understand them.

I still speak pigeon thai, but i would say i am lower intermediate. It takes a long time to get there.

On my first trip to Thailand, I had a small laminated card on which I had recorded a few phrases...

Hello = sawadi kup

Thank you = Kup kung kup

No thank you= my ao kup

never mind= mai pen lye

and a couple of others.... I never needed "How much", or "Really:go away now" (Bie!)

(and yes, phonetic spelling, not real Thai)

I didn't need the card for my second trip, but I'm still on the basic courtesy stuff.

I'm a lazy sod, but I'm looking forward to trying to learn more.

Thanks Bryan.

"I have passed blamelessly through life doing nought but good deeds, and I am beloved by all whose path I have crossed. It is beyond comprehension that anyone could nurture in their hearts hostile feelings for me." Genevive Dieudonne. Vampire. ("Anno Dracula" by Kim Newman)

I don't know where I stand really, been learning on and off for just over 5 years, can't read or write Thai script yet, I can get by in a conversation with Thai's though, did a good job on Saturday in Leicester Square!