IGNORED

Newbie here sharing first scam exerpience

willywong4545

Pattaya off to a great start until the other day, was walking down the beach when I picked one out of the line. Quoted 1200 ST agreed and off we went, got to hotel room and she demanded money up front.

I remember reading here to always pay after and thats where the conflict started. We couldnt agree and I asked her to leave to which she demanded 500 baht. From where I picked up was a 2 minute walk to the hotel, we were in my room for maybe 3 minutes and nothing occured. In my mind she didn't deserve any money, but I offered her 200 baht to leave and she stuck to 500 sat down and was not going anywhere.

I remember reading in these threads that if there's conflict you should get the hotel involved, so I gave them a call and staff came up but ulimtately said you two need to work it out. At this point I just paid the 500 and she left.

I think that's what bothered me the most about this is it felt kind of embarrassing to get hotel staff involved and to basically tell me they are unable to help. Still have a week left and I'm going to be 'that guy' walking by them everyday now, I might eat the hotel cost and just change hotels.

Anyways my advice to the other newbies

- if its a monetary verbal issue its probably best to pay it off, ( in my case 500 baht is not really hurting the bank but this seemed like undeserved payment )
- if your plucking them off the street ask about after payment and maybe even ST activities

I'd like to think I made the right choice of not paying up front because I imagine she'd have other ways of extorting additional money

Edited by willywong4545
edit because post was not finished

2 minutes ago, willywong4545 said:

felt kind of embarrassing to get hotel staff involved and to basically tell me they are unable ton help. Still have a week left and I'm going to be 'that guy' walking by them everyday now, I might eat the hotel cost and just change hotels.

Hi mate,