IGNORED

How to get an International Driving Permit in Thailand, using my Thai Licence, to use in New Zealand?

Encora

I am a NZ resident, living in Thailand. I intend to go back to NZ for a visit. I hold a NZ licence as well as a Thai licence.

I just found that my NZ licence expired a few weeks ago. How do I obtain a Thai issued IDP, so I can drive in NZ from the moment I arrive?

once in NZ, I need to drive from moment of arrival, it may take a few days before I can get my NZ licence updated.

21 minutes ago, Encora said:

I am a NZ resident, living in Thailand. I intend to go back to NZ for a visit. I hold a NZ licence as well as a Thai licence.

I just found that my NZ licence expired a few weeks ago. How do I obtain a Thai issued IDP, so I can drive in NZ from the moment I arrive?

once in NZ, I need to drive from moment of arrival, it may take a few days before I can get my NZ licence updated.

You can drive on your Thai Licence for up to 3 months. Actually I am doing it now.

Do not need an IDP.

41 minutes ago, Encora said:

How do I obtain a Thai issued IDP,..........................

Not Pattaya last I heard....have to go to Chonburi.

Costs 500 Baht I think.

https://www.waze.com/en-GB/live-map/directions/department-of-land-transport-(chonburi)-banglamung-branch-nong-pla-lai-bang-lamung-(chon-buri)?to=place.w.66191490.661718289.13327878

4 hours ago, thainet said:

You can drive on your Thai Licence for up to 3 months. Actually I am doing it now.

Do not need an IDP.

Do you mean I can drive on my Thai Licence in New Zealand for three months? And rent a car using my Thai Licence?

4 hours ago, Edge said:

The link you sent is to the transport office next to Regents school. Do you know where the Chonburi branch is that you recommend ?

28 minutes ago, Encora said:

Do you mean I can drive on my Thai Licence in New Zealand for three months? And rent a car using my Thai Licence?

Yup, true what @thainet says.