IGNORED

Emirates Seating Booking

blue1878

Tomorrow I'm flying to Thailand and I am flying with Emirates.  So I am flying Manchester - Dubai - Bangkok.  And the same in reverse at the end of my holiday.  Anyway I booked my flights months and months ago and whilst I was online booking my flights I booked my seats on all 4 flights.  And I booked the same seat on all 4 flights which is 42C.  So I had to pay 4 X £25 for the seats. A total of £100.

A short while ago I decided I will check in online.  I've never done this before and I am glad that I did because I noticed that according to the online check in my seat for the Manchester to Dubai flight is 45C not 42C.  I know it's only 3 rows back from what I booked and payed for months ago but I'm not happy.

42C the seat I booked and payed for is the aisle seat of the 2nd row from the front of economy.  And the seat is on the left hand side of economy right by the door of the plane.  I booked this for a reason.  So I phoned Emirates and asked why and got told that a different A380 plane has been asigned to this flight and this is the reason why I got given 45C.   I asked the guy I was talking to if he can change my seat to 42C because this A380 has a 42C.  His reply is his system wont allow him to change my seat from 45C to 42C and if I go to the check in desks tomorrow they might be able to make the change.  So I will get to Check in early tomorrow and see if I can get 42C.

Booking seats in advance used to be free so if I now have to pay £25 per seat I expect to keep the seat I booked.  

RANT OVER

If you have now checked in, then you can't do it yourself anymore.

If you haven't checked in yet, then you can change the seat yourself

I am very surprised the Emirates staff can't change the seat for you though, unless that seat has now been booked by somebody else, but they would have told you if that was the case

Obviously paying for a seat is not a guarantee that you will have that seat