IGNORED

r sound in Thai

hioctane

So I am just starting to learn Thai... Many times BMs say that girls say loom vs room and falang vs farang because they can't pronounce the r sound. I just started some beginner lessons (Thai Pod 101) and I hear plenty of words with a r sound in it.. What's the deal? 

I don't believe that I have ever met a Thai that cannot pronounce "R" sound.

It is the Thais with roots in Laos that tend to replace it with "L".

I have no idea why so often, in English words like "room", they pronounce it "loom"

I can only imagine that when they hear an "R" sound, it registers as an "L" somewhere in their brain.

So often if you try to get an isaan person to repeat a word such as "school", they will say "schoon". The Thai letter "L" at the end of a word is pronounced as an "N", but it makes no sense to me unless when I say "school", they actually somehow hear "schoon".

Same thing with "noodle", "nooden".

Chasing girls can be expensive

But it's more expensive if you catch one

I have no idea why so often, in English words like "room", they pronounce it "loom"

I can only imagine that when they hear an "R" sound, it registers as an "L" somewhere in their brain.

So often if you try to get an isaan person to repeat a word such as "school", they will say "schoon". The Thai letter "L" at the end of a word is pronounced as an "N", but it makes no sense to me unless when I say "school", they actually somehow hear "schoon".

+1 dont forget footbun and apun 555

In Aus I have met girls from Songkhla and Chon Buri who study English who cannot for the life of them pronounce R.

Alai,Aloi,Falang,Loom. I was trying to get Ms Songkhla to say "Aaarrrr" but the closest she got was Aaahhh.

It confuses the hell out of me because if she is trying to teach me something in Thai(im a terrible student, about the only thing I picked up first go was dtao nom) which has an L sound im never sure if it is meant to be an L or if its an R and she just cant say it!