IGNORED

Spicy Thai Food - A (lighthearted) Challenge

I've read the post about eating spicy Thai food under the heading: "Thai Food how to cope, they eat chillies for breakfast,brunch,lunch, afternoon lunch, tea/dinner"

I just wonder how many guys here could out-do a Thai with eating spicy food, or how many would want to / be interested?

Call me a sad bastard (OK, you're a sad bastard), but it has always of interest to me why Thais always seem to think that ferangs can't eat spicy food.

Now although I'm a newbie on PA, I have had some practice at eating spicy food.

I think in the past I've been beaten by only three Thais when I challenged them to a prik-kee-noo competition. This is the small, very fierce chillies.

The last challenge I had was a couple of months ago in Udon. Girl in a beer bar was convinced (as normal) us ferangs can't cope with it. So we agreed eating chillies one-for-one. My only stipulation was that when she put it in her mouth and chewed it, that she stuck her tongue out with the masticated (yes, that is the correct word!) contents before swallowing, so we could all see she had chewed it and not swallowed it whole. I abided by the same rule.

Only reason I insisted on it was that once in the past I saw a girl just swallow and not chew the chilli to avoid the heat.

As the Udon girl was convinced I wouldn't beat her, I asked what the prize was, to which she said the loser had to ring the bell.

After only six chillies each she gave up. Needless to say she wouldn't ring the bell ("Have no money"), but at least she did buy me a beer.

So my question is, are there any guys out there interested and could we show the locals a thing or two - i.e. it's not only them who can do this?

I'm aiming to be down in Pattaya early next month (September) so if you're interested PM me!

Cheers,

I like spicy food but Im afraid I wont be able to make it september :)