IGNORED

Any rules regarding mai / chai mai ?

xrayspecs

I'm just starting to learn Thai using Pimsleur and quite enjoying it. However one thing that confuses me is the some questions end in mai but some end in chai mai. As a result negative answers to these questions begin in either mai or mai chai.

Are there any rules which govern which types of questions use chai?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

ok simple.. with a lot of thai questions part of the answer is a just repeating part of the question..

you like her right? khun chawp koa chai mai?

yeah she is ok. khrap.. chawp khrap...

no i dont.. mai chawp...

mai chai come in when you dont agree or it isnt correct...

you are a doctor? kuhn ben mor chai mai?

yes, i am a doctor..... khrap, puhm ben mor..

no, im a driver.... mai chai puhm ben khon kop rot...

or for simple negative answers you use mai with the adverb... is it expensive? pang mai? no it isnt expensive.. mai pang...

'Mai' at the end of a sentence simply equates to '?'. For example, 'kow jai mai?' = 'do you understand?'

'Chai mai' at the end of a sentence means 'am I right?' or 'is this correct?'

'Mai Chai' or 'chai' are usually only used in response to 'chai mai'.

There is also '...dai mai' which roughly translates to 'can you do...for me?'

The correct responses are then 'dai' & 'mai dai'.

Confusingly, there are also separate ways of asking what, where, why & which?

For example,

'chue alai?' = 'what is your name?'

'wat tee nai?' = 'where is the temple?'

'rot nai?' = 'which bus?'

Hope this helps.

Peace. :GoldenSmile1:

sgu_banner.gif

Er, this is making sense but I don't think I'm being clear as to what I want to know.

OK, what I don't understand is that some questions simply end in mai while others end in chai mai. Such as the two questions below...

Khun cowjai par sar angrit mai khrap? only has 'mai'

Khun pen khon Thai chai mai khrap? has 'chai mai'