IGNORED

understanding and comprehending...

joltme1313

dr boogie and all other advanced thai speaking farang, how long did it take before you could understand when regular everyday people spoke to you and around you?????????...

ive been studying for the past 8 months or so and i can speak very well for this short amount of time.. but when people talk to me i cant understand most of the time.. when i know what the subject is and they speak slowly, clearly and simply i understand.

it is a little frustrating sometimes, when they say something to me and then we go over what it means and i say to myself "how didnt i hear that"? i know they use the same words for many different things and it is only slightly changed by the context and the actual tone of the word... when i have repetitive conversations i understand because i kinda know whats coming.. im very lucky that i have a thai girlfriend in my home country who speaks english better then i speak thai and i also have a great podcast lessons that boosted my vocabulary to the point where im learning so fast that i cant even remember half of it.. or a quarter of it, to be honest.. lol.. but repetition is the key for me.. im even learning to let go of trying to translate english sentence structure into thai sentence structures.. because it is rarely the same..

thanks for the answers if anyone gives them and good luck to all beginners...

Edited by joltme1313

regional slang is the key

in england ,got so many diff slangs ,all in english ,but the variations

like thai ,north is diff to south

bangkok drop there r,like aloy=delicious

patts ,aroy=delicious

my name,richard,they say =lichard,

just things you need to be exsposed to ,over time

learn the basics at school,then out into the real world

who speaks school text stuff any way

we all learn local jargon when left school,regional slang

if know your abc,1 to 10 and speak ,ask questions ,thats good