IGNORED

bloody new rules

gareth

i dont know how new this rule is but im certainly pissed off about it ,

i have been coming to thailand for about 9 years now and for the last 6 i have been coming for long holidays of 75-85 days , what i have always done before is send my passport off get a 1 entry tourist visa for 60 days and go to the emigration office shortly before the end and get a 1 month extension . every easy !!

so the other day went to the consulate with my filled out form passport and photos , only to be informed that since june this year now need a copy of booking ( even though there was nothing on the internet site about it ) so found an internet cafe onto my e-mail account and shot out a copy , back to the consulate only to be informed that .

if i get a 1 entery 60 day visa i can NOT get an automatic extension in land as i have always done ,

so my options were .

A) get a single entry visa and do a visa run by plane ( because flying in you can get a 30 day visa extension ) expensive

B) get a single entry visa and do a visa run by bus ( can only get a 14 day visa extension ) too short staying 77 days

C) get a double entry visa and do a visa run by bus ( with double entry visa 2nd entry by bus can also have another 60 days ) 25 euro

so had to go with option C which is a pain in the arse as i spend my hols on Samui so doing a visa run is a bloody long thing takes up a whole day starting around 5am , what a bloody pain in the arse it was so much simpler and easier before

"And were you pleased?" they asked Helen in Hell.

"Pleased?" answered she,when all Troy's towers fell;

And dead were Priam´s sons, and lost his throne?

And such a war was fought as none had known;

And even the Gods took part; and all because

Of me alone! Pleased?

I should say I was!"

Lord Dunsany