IGNORED

Reading & Writing

Ajay75

Right I've decided to get off my ass and start learning to read and write Thai. I've been using phonetic Thai for using with my teacher for the last 8 months and its helped with my pronounciation alot but I know I am just delaying the inevitable.

Could anyone point me in a direction of useful resources which are easy to follow in learning the alphabet? I'm looking for something pretty simple and explained pretty well.

Theres so many resources but its difficult to know whats good, so thought I'd pick a few peoples brains and find out what worked best for them.

Cheers

My understanding of women goes only as far as the pleasures.

-- Michael Caine (Alfie, 1966)

I used www.learningthai.com they have alphabet cards with the sounds on them!

I tried memorizing the alphabet to start, that didn't work at all as there was too much to it, I still forget the rarely used characters now.

http://www.learningthai.com/readthai_01.html

That's the first thing that I used that actually clicked, it gives you English words with script spelling and explanations of the sounds and the way to read. It splits the characters up and tells you the sound for each like,ทอม, ท = a T sound, อ = a 'or' sound and ม = an 'm' sound. Within a short while you should be able to create short words like this.

I think I then checked out manee:

http://www.learningthai.com/books/manee/introduction_01.htm

Edited by herds

Nice one guys. I've actually found a decent resource which has helped me memorise the alphabet by associating pictures and a story which each of the low, middle and high class constonants.

I've pretty much got the low and middle classes remembered already after a day. Suprisingly effective method to learn each letter and the various start and end letters of syllables.

I've got the Manee books in pdf format already which I think will be good practice once I get the alphabet locked down.

My understanding of women goes only as far as the pleasures.