IGNORED

Cleanliness

Golden Oldie

This is for those of you that rent out rooms!

Something to think about.....

How particular are you in regards to making sure that the air filters in the rooms are cleaned regularly.

Lot's of sickness can be prevented if the air filters are clean, especially now with so much flu germs about!

i'm not a scientist but i don't believe that the "filters" on an ac will accumulate germs.. most you can take out and rinse off yourself, so i doubt that they would stop or hold germs for the flu..

also the flu germs are only alive for (i believe) 6-8 hours so they would've died in the filters.

germs are mainly passed in Liquid that is coughed into the air??

i hope that they are some scientist out there that can tell us if i'm right.. or we could take the material from an ac filter and construct a condom so we are safe from stds...

Legionnaires' disease is another potential risk with dirty A/C which can be fatal.

Here is something off the web

Legionnaires' disease (Legionellosis) is a serious and sometimes fatal form of pneumonia caused by the bacteria Legionella. Although not all cases of Legionnaires' disease are severe, up to ten per cent of cases can be fatal.

There are over forty strains of Legionella bacteria but only a few cause disease in humans. The strains that are most commonly associated with human disease are pneumophila and longbeachae.

What are the symptoms of Legionnaires' disease?

Symptoms are usually similar to a severe 'flu' infection and include: fever; headache (often severe); shortness of breath; muscle aches and pains and sometimes a dry cough.

From the time of infection with Legionella bacteria, it takes between two and 10 days for symptoms to appear. In most cases, symptoms begin after five or six days.

How do you get Legionnaires' disease?