IGNORED

ID "passport" demands

The Mentalist

How many members on here know of People being stopped and asked for ID (passport). I been comming to LOS for years and never heard of it happening.

Post by Glenjean prompted this question

I've been visiting Pattaya since 1992 and have never been stopped by the police and asked for identification. And I don't know anybody who has

Never been asked for it on the street as such, but if you have an issue and need to talk to police etc they do ask for it.

kamagrauk.co.uk-banner-monthly-international-120x60.gif

use_opendns_155x52.gif

Not heard of anyone from all my friends ever being asked for a Passport.....

Blue

It happened to me about 6 months ago on the way to my girlfriends village for her grandads funeral (near arunyaprathet). On the way we were stopped at a police roadblock in the middle of nowhere, I was in the back of the car with all her family up the front and my girlfriend back with me.... The officer noticed me in the back immediately and asked for my passport. Well, unfortunately I had left it back at my friends house in Pattaya. The family were freaking out about it. The officer asked all the family to exit the car except me. They crossed over the road to where all the other officers were and had a chat for a few minutes. My girlfriend than came back and informed me that the officer wants money. I gave her 500bt and she said too much... She gave me 200bt back and went over to see the officer again. I watched as she handed him the money and gave him a very big Wai, he looked over at me with a cheeky smile and we were allowed to continue our journey. Needless to say, we didnt take that route on the way back to Pattaya the next day.

I dont think you will be routinely stopped for that sole purpose.

However it is a legal requirement so its logical they ask for it if you are stopped for a suspected offence (i.e. traffic) even if it is concocted.