IGNORED

New basic Thai Smartphone and sim

I am currently in Jomtien and do my internet stuff on my laptop. I'm looking for a basic Thai smartphone and sim package that will:

1) Allow cheap calls to UK, not actually done any so far on this trip but could be useful if needed

2) Phone calls to other Thai phones

3) Using Line id

4) ordering Bolt taxis

My UK smartphone is pay as you go and does not leave my condo until I go home.

Any suggestions regarding type of phone and sim package is appreciated, also any reputable suppliers that I should use who can set it up for me whilst I am there. As you may have guessed, I'm not very tech savvy with little hand-held thingies. TIA.

To use Bolt away from your condo wifi ..  be aware you need data enabled sim. Not a cheap phone calls only package.

Be careful as some data packages do not allow foreign calls. Very incovenient at times. My package has so many free local calls, no foreign calls, unlimited data. Costs me 6,000 baht a year.

I could not do without data now .. especially for watching You Tube to distract me when on a running machine in a gym. And for Bolt.

Its a minefield really ...so google the costs of packages or visit some phone company shops.

As for cheap calls to UK .. best to use I think 010 500 44 for cheap rate but google search "cheap international calls to UK from Thailand" will probably guide you and give you current cut price codes.

Be careful with LINE .. I dont think you can have computer and phone registered to same email address used on computer. Its one only. It deletes your old one. One must be registered to phone number the other to your email. ERRRRR i think. Just google research the subject.

LINE has no help desk so you can ferk up and have no LINE. like me briefly. Im no expert so do your own research.

Edited by Wingeing Pom

I'd suggest a visit to Central Festival for the phone shops and mobile providers.