Support our Sponsors >> Thai Friendly | Pattaya News | Pattaya Unplugged | Buy a drink for Soi 6 Girls | Thailand 24/7 Forum | TPN Property | La La Land bar | NEW PA website | Subscribe to The Pattaya News |Pattaya Investigations | Rage Fight Academy | Buy/Sell Businesses | Isaan Lawyers | Siam Business Brokers | Belts Of Mongering - Mongering Authority | Add your Text or Event here

IGNORED

How often are visas denied given my situation...anxiety high.

Stroth

Hello,

It might be more of a speculation question - no concrete answer, but I am about to go via passenger van to Cambodia next week to get a new visa for another 1-year stay. I have been staying here, and only here, in Thailand since June of 2016. I have been on education visas a few years, volunteer visa a couple of years...whatever agencies are telling me in a given year I need to do. This time around, I am nervous. I went back to the same office I used the previous year and the rep there was thumbing through my passport, stopping to say pretty much I have been here a long time. "Not easy", he mutters. So, naturally, I immediately panic. I sat and watched (attempting to listen) to a phone call that sounded like the immigration office in Cambodia where I would be going to get processed, and the conversation had to go on at least 10 minutes. Finally, he hangs up and explains that its "gonna cost a bit more". 3,000 baht more, which for me, is an automatic, "sure, no problem", that's not even 10 more baht a day, there's nowhere I'd rather be, no problem. But the whole thing felt like a red flag. Compounding this trip where I am worried about being denied a visa is a chronic health issue that this trip will surely take it's toll on (not sure how much) as well as anxiety about leaving the border in general, as it will be the first time since 2019 that I have left Thai soil, due to Covid allowing visa handling to be done in-country. Not sure if anyone empathizes, but it is a thing, this post-Covid anxiety. But