IGNORED

'To be' in Thai confusing

Crypt

I'm learning some Thai but this "to be" verb really confuses me!

Every method writes the words in different ways, mine like this.

words for to be are : Pen / Yoo / Kue

But when do I use which one???

Some examples how my guide uses them:

Pom yoo nai hong = I am in the room

Pom kue Mr. Pat = I am Mr. Pat

Pom pen kru = I am a teacher

Do you just have to know when you use which one or could it have been any one of the three in any off the sentences?

Some help would be appreciated :GrinNod1:

And if you just have to know when you use which form.... uhm... when do you use which form?!

bpen (M)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1a. [verb, transitive, intransitive, auxiliary verb] to be; <subject> is

3. [auxiliary verb] can; to be able

yuu (L)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1a. [verb, transitive, intransitive] is (located at); to reside; to live (at)

1b. [verb, intransitive] [intransitive usage] is at home

1d. to survive

2a. [noun] presence; existence

3. [auxiliary verb, particle] [particle indicating the progressive tense or perfect tense]

kheuu (M)

1. [verb, transitive, conjunction] [copula] to be; is (used for equivalence definitions)

2. [verb] namely; as follows; thus; as in; to wit; simply

type "to be" in the english to thai dictionary search for examples http://www.thai-language.com/dict/

Learning to speak thai correctly can be some tricky shit

Edited by Tang

"To monger, or not to monger, that is the question"

pom ben (or b-pen) kru = I be teacher.

pom kue (or cheu) 'Mr Pat' = my name 'Mr Pat'.

no sure about Pom yoo nai hong, maybe someone else can enlighten us!

Edited by pompooee

no sure about Pom yoo nai hong, maybe someone else can enlighten us!

Pom yuu tii hong = I'm in the room. Or literally "I'm located in the room"

You can also use other words to mean "to be..." something.