Support our Sponsors >> Thai Friendly | Pattaya News | Pattaya Unplugged | Buy a drink for Soi 6 Girls | Thailand 24/7 Forum | TPN Property | La La Land bar | NEW PA website | Subscribe to The Pattaya News |Pattaya Investigations | Rage Fight Academy | Buy/Sell Businesses | Isaan Lawyers | Siam Business Brokers | Belts Of Mongering - Mongering Authority | Add your Text or Event here

IGNORED

Thai ways of saying things....

Ajay75

Anyone else struggle with the weird and wonderful way Thais seem to structure things sometimes in their sentences. Its doing my head in a little to be honest but I suppose practice and time will let it come more naturally.

My teacher is helping me loads but some lessons I feel like a total beginner even though I've been learning a year.

Just need to get used to the way they say things but its a little overwhelming sometimes.

The latest weird one was:

You have bread with butter, also?

ka nom bpang taa nee_y, duay^

But actually translates word wise into: Bread paint with butter also.

Bunch of weirdos :LOL:

My understanding of women goes only as far as the pleasures.

-- Michael Caine (Alfie, 1966)

I always used 'thaa' in the context of makeup, applying makeup. So it's like apply/put butter on the bread.

heh, i have confusion like this a lot, just now i asked what was 'buy one get one free' and the answer was 'sur neung gab neung' which i translated to 'buy one with one' which directly translated doesn't quite seem as clear that the 2nd item is free.

I know what you mean about feeling like a beginner sometimes. I'll sit there, use long words talk confidently, receive 'ohh wee, geng, poot thai chat mak jing' then one simple question or word that i don't know gets said and i'm completely stumped :/ haha.

The last one i remember was i was talking about chiang mai and someone asked me about the mountain.. 'dtai kow mai' - did you climb the mountain.. and i was frozen as i only knew the word 'gaan kern' when refering to climbing.