IGNORED

The importance of a native teacher

Ajay75

I thought I'd just post about the importance of having a native teacher when trying to learn Thai. Once you have learnt the basics I think that its a strong recomendation from experience that you need to get a teacher if you want to learn to a good intermediate level and above.

The reason why I am making this post is that since I have been learning by myself from numerous sources for the last 11 months or so I decided to get myself a teacher who is based in Thailand. I have 3 hours worth of lessons a week and its done me so much good.

I have been with her a month now and she has taught me so much that you would never get from online lessons. The main thing is that you are never going to get what is being spoken or not in real life in Thailand now online no matter what the source. My teacher is really good even correcting my accent and where the sound is coming from (i.e. nasal or throat) when speaking to be more central and not like someone from the north like I used to sound.

These subtle changes make all the difference and I know what to say and not what to say so much more. You dont realise how some phrases are used just by kids and what is rarely used from books or online courses.

I am not aiming this post at beginners but at people who know the basics that want to push it to the next level. I would say I speak 60% Thai and 40% English with my teacher at the moment. I do it via Skype and it costs me £10 a lesson and its a better alternative to learning within England or wherever where lessons start at £20+.

I hope this is of help to BM's who really want to learn Thai properly. I am really excited about this year and have a goal for the end of 2009 which I think I will easily achieve.

My understanding of women goes only as far as the pleasures.

-- Michael Caine (Alfie, 1966)