IGNORED

Domestic Flights Out of Don Mueang

ChiFlyer

I have read that international flights in/out of Don Mueang are to be avoided as immigration can be a nightmare. I am looking at some domestic flights and the Air Asiana prices out of the old airport are quite attractive compared to the corresponding flights on Thai Air out of BKK. I have never used the airline before and have not been in the old airport in over a decade. Any comments?

Remember to take into account the extra travel costs to/from Don Mueang when comparing fares. Maybe 400 baht each way?

Depending where you’re flying to, U-Tapao has some budget airlines using it as well.

"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans."

So remember to “Enjoy every sandwich”

1 hour ago, davidge said:

Remember to take into account the extra travel costs to/from Don Mueang when comparing fares. Maybe 400 baht each way?

Depending where you’re flying to, U-Tapao has some budget airlines using it as well.

I agree. The budget airlines out of U-Tapao can be excellent. I've flown to CM, Udon, and Phuket from there. The ticket to UDT was less than $30 and only an hour long. Much better than half a day on a bus. 

Thanks guys. Good idea about U-Tapao. I am considering a trip to Khon Kaen in Isan. According to Orbitz, there are no flights there from U-Tapao. The difference on the price between Don Muaeng and BKK was pretty significant. Over $100 US or about 3,300 Baht.

I would probably combine the trip with a few days in Bangkok. My first trip to Thailand next year is for 4 months. I have an O-A Visa now. I will need to come back again next October to renew the visa. Geez, what a shame. :)

I have used U-Tapao before to go over to Ko Samui. Worked very well and the ride from the airport back to Patts was great. My lady friend, at that time, had the driver stop at the buddha carved into the mountain as well as a gorgeous temple.