IGNORED

Electrical Earthing (aka Grounding) Issues

mongo2

As some may recall I recently purchased a laptop.  The salesperson at Power Buy convinced me to also buy a 3 socket "Surge Protector" extension cord.  Brand name is Toshino, model E-913SY.  Each socket is a three prong.  My question is not in regard to the "Surge Protector". It more about the topic of the three prong system.

I live in a condo that is likely over 20 years old.  Most but not all of the wall sockets are 2 prong.  I am not an electrician, but I am assuming the entire condo is not grounded (earthed).  If I am wrong please advise.

I have used a desktop here for many years (since 2007) without any problems. not any "surge protection". 

So, my question is: If I plug this new laptop into the new Surge Protector and that into a 3 extension cord that plugs into a 2 prong wall socket, IS there really any surge protection at all.

Probably worth investing in a decent quality UPS if your looking for pretty fool proof protection for an expensive laptop. I have no idea on prices for one in Thailand, a half decent one here in Ozz runs at about 3,500 to 5,000 baht.

Cheers

image.png.6eb5df3c4b99a4189996c2a21d8f14af.png

Yes, all surge protector that I know do need a 3 connectors socket, as their principle is to send on the Earth wire the extra energy they may receive, because of a lightning strike by example.

Many information on the web :

Electrical surge circuit when their is no surge

Graph from: http://www.judgeelectrical.co.uk/domestic-electrical/surge-protection/electrical-surge-protection.html

Even the old condos are in fact "grounded", because of the way they are built. The metal structure in the concrete can easily conduct a surge down to the ground. So if you really need it you must find a way to connect your yellow-green earth wire to one of these metal parts in the wall.