IGNORED

Buying a laptop

Billyboy294

A friend of mine who knows little about computers has asked me to get him a 14 in laptop for ' light' usage for around 10,000/12,000 baht.

I am no expert but the best one for him i have seen is a Lenova 100S-141BR (11,900 for 10,900.) There are two changes from the spec given on the internet .Instead of Intel Celeron it has a Pentium N3710 and instead of 500Gb it has SDD 128. It has Windows 10 Home. From Powerbuy. I have looked at JIB, Banana and IT City.

Any other thoughts, i have only looked in Tukcom so are there better places to look.

Sex without love is an empty experience;

But as empty experiences go, it is one of the best.

If he doesn't take a ton of pictures or videos he want's to save only locally on the hard drive, I'd take the SSD over the  HD.  Faster overall performance.  The chipset I'd have to look up, but I'd probably take the Pentium over the Celeron too.    No idea on price/value here though.

This is now the likely purchase. Any comments.

Dell Vostro 3565 15.6in. 12,990 Baht.

DELL Vostro 3565 2.2GHz A8-7410 15.6" 1366 x 768pixels Black Notebook :

15.6'' LED HD (1366x768), AMD A8-7410 (2M Cache, 2.20 GHz), 4GB DDR3L 1600MHz, 1000GB

HDD, AMD Radeon R5, DVD±RW, Gigabit Ethernet, 802.11ac/a/b/g/n, Bluetooth 4.2, Windows 10 Home

Looks like a basic budget laptop.. low resolution screen,  doubt the needs the 1000gb drive, 4GB ram is low these days IMO.  I'd keep shopping... also look at used ones too if he just needs basic.    

I do all my computer shopping here http://www.invadeit.co.th/category/notebooks-laptops/ but I am also comfortable shopping online, and when I'm home in Udon, I'm lazy enough to appreciate door to door service. :-)

For basics I'd agree with Pentium, and 4GB. I'd also try for a SSD over HDD, better battery life, less heat, noticeably better response time, and less susceptible to drop damage. (though I've never bounced the heads on a HDD yet.)