IGNORED

Accents and dialects

KDNG

I am new to learning Thai, but not to a different language. For those you have good proficient levels to full on fluent, when you were learning and practicing in Thailand, were you able to pick up on the different accents from the various regions? My second language is Spanish and when I started to hear other accents (not to include dialects) it was very odd to me, especially hearing Old World Spanish accents. When I learned Arabic (suck at it now lol) I picked up on different accents even if I could not understand the person fully and be able to identify what country they were from.

I know dialects can screw things up, especially if the girl may talk in Lao, since it is very similiar to Thai. Basically all I am asking is for your experiences with accents and learning them in Thai. Are you able to distinguish the accents and what province they re from? I do understand of other factors such as slang and phrases that are lost in direct translation, etc.

I am new to learning Thai, but not to a different language. For those you have good proficient levels to full on fluent, when you were learning and practicing in Thailand, were you able to pick up on the different accents from the various regions? My second language is Spanish and when I started to hear other accents (not to include dialects) it was very odd to me, especially hearing Old World Spanish accents. When I learned Arabic (suck at it now lol) I picked up on different accents even if I could not understand the person fully and be able to identify what country they were from.

I know dialects can screw things up, especially if the girl may talk in Lao, since it is very similiar to Thai. Basically all I am asking is for your experiences with accents and learning them in Thai. Are you able to distinguish the accents and what province they re from? I do understand of other factors such as slang and phrases that are lost in direct translation, etc.