IGNORED

Complete photography novice looking for advice.

Drewbrogan

Hi all,

As mentioned above I'm a complete novice when it comes to anything photography related. I have been lucky enough to travel a lot in my life and have hardly any pictures to memorialise this so have decided to remedy this.

After reading a lot on here and photography sites I've bought myself a Nikon D3200 DSLR camera as it was rated a decent entry level DSLR wherever I looked. I have opted for the kit with the AF-S DX VRII 18-55 mm lens.

Is this a good choice of camera for someone with no experience, and is it easy to use, and become confident/proficient with?

Also, I would greatly appreciate any tips, advice, books or courses anybody could recommend?

Thanks in advance.

wouldn't it have been better to ask that question before you bought the camera? I've got a Nikon P510 and its a fantastic camera.

If you're a total novice why not book a basic evening course at your local adult college?

YouTube is a great learning source for photography , but the great thing about digital cameras is trial and error doesn't cost like the old days of film

shoot photos in RAW format, get a copy of adobe photoshop.

taking good photos requires knowing when to take a photo and capturing the moment in an interesting way. That can't really be teached

Get the "for dummies" book they do them for all models , agree with the evening class idea

If it floats, flies or fucks It's probably cheaper to rent ...

wouldn't it have been better to ask that question before you bought the camera? I've got a Nikon P510 and its a fantastic camera.

If you're a total novice why not book a basic evening course at your local adult college?

Thanks for the advice. I will look for a course, although I have noticed that most colleges in my area no longer offer an evening class.