IGNORED

Applying for a 60 day re-entry Visa in Vientiane

MattyStock

I will have to leave Thailand soon, and I plan on going to Vientiane to apply for the 60 day re-entry visa. I was told to fly their apply, get it approved and come back. Does anyone know if I can travel to Vientiane from Thailand by bus and still apply, or do I have to fly in to Laos to get this Visa?

Sorry I have no personal experience, but it would be addressed in the context of multiple Visa? I would also like to know the right answer. I fear that entry via land borders will only be a 15 day visa entry.

THAJEC Thajský muž TRIP 37 - 30.November 2018 - 28.1.2019

Waht you seem to asking about is a Tourist Visa, good for a 60 day entry. I think you have visas and re-entry permits mixed up.

It doesn't matter how you go to Laos, bus is OK. You have to go to the Thai Embassy to get the visa.

The only time it matters whether you fly back to Thailand or cross at a land border is when you enter WITHOUT a visa.

If it's a new visa you need you go to Vientiane , if you only need a stamp you only have to go to the border . 

Flying to Vientiane is pretty expensive . I have done the trip a couple of times by flying to Udon Thani with

Air Asia and take a minibus from the airport (can't miss them , 200/250Bht) to Nong Kai and the friendship

bridge . Cross the border and on the other side tuk tuk/taxis are waiting to bring you to Vientiane . 

Doesn't matter how you leave the country and in case of a tourist visa it also doesn't matter how you enter 

the country . You always get 60 days (and if you want a 30 day extension in Jomtien immigration for 1900Bht) .