IGNORED

Telephone Newbie...

doctorcopenhagen

Considered where to post this request since I am not a newbie, but I am a newbie phone user in Thailand?

I always just travel with my normal cell phone.  Girls here ask me to give them my number but I refuse based on the fact that this would be my main number and I do not want them to contact me on that number when I am home.

I read that many of you guys have a Thai phone. How do I get one? I get I have to buy a phone. Where is a good place in Pattaya for that? Then how do I get a number etc?

I mean, where to go, what to ask for, how to make it work... Thanks in advance 

1. Decide if you need to be reachable on your existing number while in Thailand.

2. If yes, then buy a cheapo phone and local prepaid SIM, sold in the same small shops all over town. (Any department store or supermarket)

If no, then:

3.  Is your phone locked to your provider at home?

If yes then easiest to proceed as point 2.  (Phones are cheap enough; 1000 baht for the cheapo Nokias. and *ALL* phones in Thailand are not locked to any provider, so you now have a 'travel phone' to use anywhere). An alternative is getting it unlocked at some phone repair shop (The Tukcom computer mall on South Pattaya Road has those I assume).

If no, then

4. You could get a local prepaid sim (Any 7-eleven, or any mobile phone shop) and swap out the SIM.   You can add credit at any 7-11, they'll even add the credit for you if you hand over the phone.

Easy..

Several days and counting.

http://www.dtac.co.th/en/postpaid/products/ShortStayVisitors.html

Get a happy tourist sim, if you want to be a happy tourist, give out your number to everyone happy in the knowledge it'll expire after 35 days. Talk to her via WhatsApp on Android/iPhone, that's tied to your thai number.

Pattaya, you can check out anytime you like, but you can never leave.