IGNORED

Dead Hard Drive

andyaus

Nowdays we are all storing more and more information on our computers. I personally have over 4 TB of data stored over 8 computers with 6 portable hard drives storing movies, TV programs, photographs, Technical manuals, home videos and general office files. A couple of years ago I bought a 500 gig hard drive (WD My Book) and I foolishly assumed this would be the safest storage I could use.

My thinking was that so many times the PC ’s would crash and even though I kept my Windows on a different partition I still lost data. I graduated to a Mac environment and moved most of my photographs and home movies but had to keep my PC for business functions so I kept the WD My Book to store Data.

You guessed it ...my WD Portable hard drive just decided to stop working recently. I changed the power pack and changed computers but I just can’t get a connection. Since then two otherpeople have asked me to help them get their Portable Hard Drives working.

Now I know about backing up things but it is expensive and to be honest I ould need terrabytes of storage to adequately back things up. I use a “Cloud” accounting package which keeps my important business files safe but I have history files on the Hard Drive and I might need them one day. I know there are people who can recover your data but they charge hundreds of dollars and it may not work.

Can anyone tell me if there are cleaver little techs in toucom who might do this type of work. Is it worth bringing my dead HD to Pattaya to get it done?

There are some that only employ words for the purpose of disguising their thoughts.

Voltaire

yes, there are loads in Tuk Com,,, just ask around first as prices will vary from place to place.. there is a place in the bottom right corner,, they have about 6 -8 techs that should do it for you there and then,, mine was just a download problem,, 150 baht to put right,, got quoted 800 from a one man band shop there,,