IGNORED

Calling into Thailand from the US

SlowlyMan

I've been using Muangthai for several years now to make calls into Thailand. For the most part it works well and you can't beat the price per minute. In recent months actually conecting with a Thai number has become increasingly difficult. I have talked with customer service. They tell me the problem is with The phone system in Thailand not having enough infrastructure to handle the volume of incoming calls, so the call just hangs in limbo.

Anybody have similar problems? work arounds? I've tried a couple different carriers with the same result. I've been thinking about Skype, but then I'm tied to the phone at home. If it really is a problem on the Thai side any service will have connection problems. I've called from Thailand to the US with no problems.

What is muangthai and how does one go about getting this service? I use an application on my phone called PennyTalk which has different rates to call most any country in the world. The rates are not all that cheap, however, and to call Thailand is around 19 cents a minute. I would be interested in using muangthai though it sounds like it's having some major problems right now...

I call anywhere in Thailand, USA, UK, Japan and many other countries for free using my computer and smartvoip.com. To initiate service you must have a credit balance and you get free calls for 90 days then you must top up again for 10 Euros. It does cost about 10 cents a minute to call Philippines and wife calls family often so I can use 10 Euros every 90 days easily. Works clearly night and day 7 days a week.

What is muangthai and how does one go about getting this service? I use an application on my phone called PennyTalk which has different rates to call most any country in the world. The rates are not all that cheap, however, and to call Thailand is around 19 cents a minute. I would be interested in using muangthai though it sounds like it's having some major problems right now...