IGNORED

Forum Upgraded

LaaMok

Click the blue circle to the left of the topic title, or the star which just means you've made a post in the topic. This will take you to the first unread post.

Ah - that's interesting...Thanks for letting me know that's there. As a developer myself, I'd probably want to swap that main link with this buried one.

My reason being, if I've never visited the topic, I'll see it all. If I have been here before, my default move would be to pick up where I left off...in either event, the main function of that link would be to connect with the current state of the thread. Seeing that the title is the largest hit spot, it's also the most natural place for someone to click, not the little ball on the left...

But that's just me.. ;)

Edited by Woofiee

• Replies 193
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Edge

• 7-Eleven

• LaaMok

• Paddy Od

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Ah - that's interesting...Thanks for letting me know that's there. As a developer myself, I'd probably want to swap that main link with this buried one...

I agree & it's a perfect example of trying to fix something that isn't broke. When viewing 'new content' you always want to see the first unread post! :Think1:

sgu_banner.gif

Actually, I think the admins shouldn't do this. Part of the problem with the older site was that people would stick ridiculously-sized images up on the site - 8-10 megapixels seemed to be the norm - and that just killed performance. Since the images were sized-down to fit the width, the users may not have noticed that they were really wasting bandwidth and clogging the arteries of this system.

Unless there's an automatic resampling function (eg, using imagemagik to set a maximum size, eg 800x600) or a filter that sets a size limit on uploads, I say don't scale images with css - let them reflect their true size and hopefully users here will be a bit more careful with uploads.

Remember - we're all in this together! ;)