IGNORED

Learning Thai for the intermediate student ?

aazz123

Hi guys,

I have been learning Thai for over 2 years now, studying at home and meeting once a week with my Thai teacher. I've made great progress. I can read (although still slow, like a kid) and I can have simple conversations in Thai. When I am in Thailand, I nearly only speak Thai with the girls, which is great :Party1: ....

but I'm not quite there yet!! :rolleyes:

When a Thai talks fast, or when I'm watching a Thai movie, I can't follow what they're saying, still due to a lack of vocabulary and also because it's just too fast. I also cannot really read Thai websites yet, because I can understand only about half of the words. The level of this material is just too high to be able to enjoy or learn from.

I would really like to read or see or listen to material which pushes my limits, but not too high of a level. Also needs to be fun, like a movie or just interesting subjects. I already am learning from different kinds of sources, which are all 'lesson-based'. But I like to learn from something 'real' and more fun now, like a movie or Thai website.

Anyone have any suggestions for me? How to take your skill level from beginner/intermediate to advanced in a quick but also fun way?

Edited by aazz123

how's that for you?

I pretty much listened to the level 5 stuff till i understood it, when i first started listening a couple years into learning thai I had to pause it every 5 seconds to catch up with how quick she speaks :)

Films etc though, i still have difficulty and would be lost without subs most of the time, chatting is easier as people are more easy going.

http://www.manager.co.th/Around/ViewBrowse.aspx?BrowseNewsID=9040

I try and read one article a day from here. Newspaper level though and I have to check a lot of the words

http://th.wikipedia.org/

this is good if you want to read about something you're interested in.

Thanks for your reply, herds. :001_Thank_You5: