IGNORED

Laws of Thailand

andyaus

Now I am not a lawyer so I am happy to have any of this information corrected or explained.

I have noticed several threads where BM's have been critical of the laws in Thailand and i'm a kind of "when in Rome type person" so I just accept that This is Thailand.

What makes Thailand so different?

Well I guess we could start with the fact that the constitution has had 17 different chapters since 1932. Thailand's political history is turbulent and with Kings, Parliaments and Military Juntas all making amendments it is a miracle that the country is as stable as it is. The latest Constitution is the 2007 model whereby only half the Senate gets elected and the other half gets appointed. Significantly these appointed senators include the nations high ranking Judiciary.

The next significant fact is that unlike the USA, England and Australia the law is based on Civil Law rather than Common Law. What does this mean?...Well In my layman's view Civil Law is based on a written list of laws that the Judges must follow where as Common law evolves based on the precedent set by the Judges. We like to think our common law is better because it keeps up to date and offers fairness in decisions but we should be aware that Civil law is the oldest and most wide spread system in the world.

Both the history of Thailand and the different types of laws in the world are fascinating subjects but the point is that Thailand has a slightly different judicial system than we are use to. There are good reasons and instead of looking to fault it we should be grateful that it is as stable as it is.

I found an interesting article on a Web page for Chaninate & leeds Lawyers