IGNORED

Teeth Whitening

abdullah the butcher

Hi guys. This is my first post, and I write it because I see that there is quite a lot interest in teeth whitening. This is general advice that I am giving you guys - Im a dentist by trade and do about 600 cases of teeth whitening a year in London.

• You need to have a thorough dental examination prior to any teeth whitening
  • You must not embark upon any teeth whitening prior to fixing any leaking fillings or rotten teeth- you'll end up possibly in considerable pain/sensitivity
  • You need to make sure there is no gum disease- be wary if the the dentist is still willing to whiten your teeth. If you've got bleeding gums get this sorted first.
  • Best results are achieved if teeth are thoroughly cleaned professionally prior to whitening.
  • Results will only last a maximum of 18 months to two years.
  • Unfortuneately some people are more prone to sensitivity than others after whitening.
  • Make sure the dentist has some of his own before and after pictures
  • Make sure that the dentist knows how to use the system that they will use on you-I have seen some shockers, espescially with the laser whitening
  • If you inherently have pre-existing sensitivity, avoid the laser whitening and opt for profeesional home kits.

There are two main forms of teeth whitening, In-office (laser) or home kit. My advice is to avoid buying stuff from shops- some of the crap I saw on my last visit could strip doors-imagine what the'd do to your gnashers! Whichever form of whitening you use, my advice is to see a dentist first, and to follow their advice.