IGNORED

UK passport and Birth cert for half thai son

flyingowl

Hi, I hope some of the members can help me with the following:

I am a British citizen I have a 4 month old son with my Thai Girlfriend of 5 years. We are not yet married.

I want to get my son a British passport and birth certificate as advised by a friend,

What is the process for me to get the passport and birth certificate for my son.

He has a Thai birth certificate as he was born in Thailand, he is listed on the birth certificate as having the same surname as me.

My thai girlfriend has never visited UK.

I have no experience of dealing with embassies etc, so an idiots guide may be useful.

many thanks.. and Merry xmas

I hav been told he needs a Thai passport as well to use to leave Thailand and come back in after a visit to UK

would it be better to get the Thai passport first or the British passport first.

would getting one first be detrimental to the other? I think thats how you spell it !

If you are in Bangkok now, you should go to your Embassy as soon as you can. They should be able to walk you through this without much of a hassle.

I like pigs. Dogs look up to us. Cats look down on us. Pigs treat us as equals.

Winston Churchill

Hi you should E-Mail Karen

[email protected]

She is in charge of the passport section at the British Embassy in Bangkok and will be dealing with your application, stating that you are unmarried and you wish to apply for British passport for your son, she will advise you on what you need to bring/have, as your son has a Thia birth certificate you should get him a Thai passport aswell make life easier if he's traveling from LOS to the UK and back again

Hope this helps

JT

CLICK ON THE LINK BELOW FOR FULL DETAILS & COSTS

Building A House In The Village

Getting Married In The Village & Bringing Her To The UK

I hav been told he needs a Thai passport as well to use to leave Thailand and come back in after a visit to UK