Support our Sponsors >> Thai Friendly | Pattaya News | Pattaya Unplugged | Buy a drink for Soi 6 Girls | Thailand 24/7 Forum | TPN Property | La La Land bar | NEW PA website | Subscribe to The Pattaya News |Pattaya Investigations | Rage Fight Academy | Buy/Sell Businesses | Isaan Lawyers | Siam Business Brokers | Belts Of Mongering - Mongering Authority | Add your Text or Event here

IGNORED

Teaching, my personal story.

Ok everyone, I have read a few of the posts on teaching in Thailand and I thought that I would share with you my personal story and experience, if you are looking for facts regarding visas and required degrees probably read elsewhere.

I had arrived in Thailand as a 25 year old backpacker, qualified chef and I have a degree in Environmental science and law(which would all explain why I now work as a butler), I travelled around up in the east and north for a couple of months before ending up in Pai north of Chiang Mai. I should mention that this was all about 10 years ago, the experience remains relevant though, Pai was a beautiful place and I am sure it still is well worth a visit.

Whilst I was in Pai I met a Scottish woman who was working with the Karen refugees from Burma, I went out to the camp to help her out and see what it was like and that is where everything started. This was a refugee camp, electricity rationed in the evening to those lucky enough to have access, bamboo housing but the hardest part was that many of the people there were in a weird limbo. Thailand refuses to recognise them officially as refugees, they also have in effect no Nationality as they cannot get a Thai id card or residency and some of the families had been there for nearly 50 years. I decided that I wanted to help and started working out how, it turned out that the young people could get Thai papers if they attended a Thai college and graduated thereby enabling them to be "productive members of society".