IGNORED

Nikon D60

Shivers

I've got a Nikon D60 (Nikkor 17mm-200mm lens) that I'm decent with, but am far from an expert. Since I'll be taking it with me on my next trip to the LOS in 2 weeks, I'm currently reading through my user's manual, but if any of you are shooting with this make/model of camera and have some useful pointers you could give me, it would be much appreciated.

Hi Shivers

I've got a Nikon D50 which I assume is similar to your D60. Mine must be an older model.

I'm still learning how to use it and obviously I'm no expert. I'll be in Patts from 9/10 to 2/11 so if you fancy meeting for a beer and photo excercise let me know.

Cheers

Tony

My first advice would be to buy a decent prime. The 35mm f1.8 is, in my opinion, your best bet. A prime lens will gave you nice sharp images but also let you take pictures in low light without flash, and finally give you that nice 'blurry background'. 35mm is closer to 'normal' focal length i.e. what you see is what you get, and you need to zoom with your feet. A lot of people recommend 50mm primes, well, I have both, and I use the 35mm way more. The 50mm is just too 'tight' on a crop sensor like the D60.

Second thing (actually, potentially the first) would be to purchase a TTL flash that would enable you to 'bounce' from ceilings etc. Then pick up a TTL cord that allows you to use the flash held in one hand and the camera in the other. This basic trick takes the flash off axis and improves the lighting. Thirdly pick up a second flash unit and a couple of stands and ebay triggers :).