gaz1889

Anyone from UK thinking of cashing in on the resurgent £?

gaz1889

Our beloved pound jumped nearly 3% today against the major currencies including the THB. Reason for optimism I think.

I've got a trip booked for February which I've just paid the flights & hotel for but won't have the funds for my spending budget until nearer the time. Otherwise I might be tempted by 38.5.

I'm no fx expert (is anyone?), but like to keep an eye on the movements & have noticed any spike in the pound is usually quickly followed by a downward turn not long afterwards.

Any thoughts? 

davidge

The exchange rate is crap. Just not as crap as yesterday.

I’m using money that’s already in my Thai bank account (sent at 50-55 to £) for spending money for trips in the foreseeable future. No plans on sending more cash over for a while.

Yagami Light

It's very difficult to time currency market right. It's not out of the question that Thai central bank cuts interest rates which would depreciate the baht. On the other hand no deal Brexit is still somewhat probable and that would sink the pound.

I wouldn't bother trying to predict it and just convert the money when needed. 

Stillearly
42 minutes ago, gaz1889 said:

Our beloved pound jumped nearly 3% today against the major currencies including the THB. Reason for optimism I think.

I've got a trip booked for February which I've just paid the flights & hotel for but won't have the funds for my spending budget until nearer the time. Otherwise I might be tempted by 38.5.

I'm no fx expert (is anyone?), but like to keep an eye on the movements & have noticed any spike in the pound is usually quickly followed by a downward turn not long afterwards.

Any thoughts?