Support our Sponsors >> Thai Friendly | Luxury Pattaya Condo Rentals | Le Pub Soi Diamond | Pattaya Investigations | Beavers Pattaya | Pattaya News | Pattaya Bars | The Night Wish Group | Add your Text or Event here

webDev

Who was around during the 2008 Recession? How did Pattaya change then?

webDev

Lots of talk of the next recession coming soon. Whether it's 3 months or 18 months away is beside the point to me; it is coming. I'm curious how that'll change Pattaya. I suspect you guys who saw the last one best know what to expect this time around as well.

I assume tourist numbers fell massively in 2008? Or was that not the case?

Lots of bars closing in response?

Overall for selfish mongers was it a net positive or negative for those who could make it out here?

taylor1975

I remember it well (uk). I worked in banking and 3 phonecalls a week from recruiters coaxing me into new jobs. Suddenly they all stopped lol.

Set off a great chain of events and worked out nice for me. Also took a year off and travelled around SE Asia.

FROST MEDIC999

Whatever happens in the West has very or any impact on yours or mine or anyone dealings with the girls like of old you pay a asking price can afford to or not too and either have monies so any recession does not effect you or dont come to Thailand or come moan about costs....you get my drift ....so if you coming it will be same same I been over nearly 40 yes now nowt changes really and if anything gets better more money I have to waste 

Taa_Saparot

Same as It Ever Was 

bkkjunkie

exchange for usd was same - and eur much higher - plenty of visitors - Pattaya was busier than today - 

WalterA
36 minutes ago, webDev said:

Lots of talk of the next recession coming soon. Whether it's 3 months or 18 months away is beside the point to me; it is coming. I'm curious how that'll change Pattaya. I suspect you guys who saw the last one best know what to expect this time around as well.