Support our Sponsors >> Thai Friendly | Pattaya News | Pattaya Unplugged | Buy a drink for Soi 6 Girls | Thailand 24/7 Forum | TPN Property | La La Land bar | NEW PA website | Subscribe to The Pattaya News |Pattaya Investigations | Rage Fight Academy | Buy/Sell Businesses | Isaan Lawyers | Siam Business Brokers | Belts Of Mongering - Mongering Authority | Add your Text or Event here

IGNORED

Airconditioning

Randomrobot

Hi all, 

Just wondering what your experiences have been with hotel airconditioning quality in Pattaya?

The hotel I stayed at last time was good except the aircon had a damp/mildew sort of smell. I hoped it would go away but it didn't . As it was a short stay I didn't bring it up with the hotel. But also I figured the other rooms would be the same. 

Is this typical or should I have asked for another room? Sorry if it sounds like a whinge. 

I have no direct experience with something like this. However maintenance in general and cleaning of airco units is not seen often in a Thai dictionary.

Ask for a different room. Wish we could at least Lysol the a/c unit, but that wouldn't help much. Don't be afraid to point out broken sh!t.

Good AirCon is a necessity in Thailand.  32+ and 75% humidity can make long walks dangerous for people not used to it... not even mentioning the terrible pollution.  

You need to get out of the heat and the AC filters some of the pollution out, this is a necessity here.

At first notice of a AC unit not working properly let them know immediately that they fix it or give you a new room.  I've changed rooms due to a bad AC.  Non-negotiable in a blazing hot country.

A guy stayed at my guesthouse was an AC fanatic and requested the AC be cleaned before he checked in. They did and you could request the same at your hotel, maybe they will do it maybe they won't.

My previous hotel when i checked in i cleaned the filter in the shower, i then caught 5 back to back colds