Support our Sponsors >> Thai Friendly | Pattaya News | Pattaya Unplugged | Buy a drink for Soi 6 Girls | Thailand 24/7 Forum | TPN Property | La La Land bar | NEW PA website | Subscribe to The Pattaya News |Pattaya Investigations | Rage Fight Academy | Buy/Sell Businesses | Isaan Lawyers | Siam Business Brokers | Belts Of Mongering - Mongering Authority | Add your Text or Event here

IGNORED

BA for £378 but no baggage included

RussB

Just booked a direct BA flight from Heathrow on 24th April (returning on 8th May) for the very reasonable price of £378.  When I got to the payment stage there was a note saying ‘no baggage included’ and a chance to purchase an allowance of 23 kg for £50.  I have never used BA before for flights to Bangkok, mainly due to the very average reviews.  Can anyone with BA experience confirm that BA charge for all checked-in bags these days please?  Booked through Skyscanner agent Flysharp.

They sometimes charge for a hold-bag, on their most-heavily-discounted tickets, however the weight-limit on your carry-on/roll-on is still an amazing 23 kgs, plus a handbag/laptop-bag/personal-item.

https://www.britishairways.com/en-gb/information/baggage-essentials/hand-baggage-allowances

So you might well be OK with carry-on only ?

10 minutes ago, semi-retired member said:

however the weight-limit on your carry-on/roll-on is still an amazing 23 kgs

Bugger me, that explains a lot. Could never figure out all the "I only travel with carry-on" people. From Aus it's normally 7kg

Yes, but even your 'personal-item' is (in theory) allowed to be up-to 23 kgs, the snag is fitting all that weight into the carry-on bag-sizes, which are still as-normal 1

Not only is it 23kg but the carryon bag size is much larger than the Jetstar, air Asia carry on baby size.

You might also be allowed a smaller (computer) bag not 2kg as with the cheapos but another 23kg.

BA seem to be dipping a toe into the budget market and a little toe at that.