IGNORED

Is web development still a good remote work option in 2019?

Epicurus.

I am switching career tracks into web development, my toolset focuses on Javascript and React.js (I'd say I need another 4 to 6 months to pick up enough skills to start applying for a junior position). Tools change every few years so my question is about the greater paradigm.

Do you guys see web development as still being a good choice for working remotely, even abroad? Or is the influx of new talent giving employers more power to keep things in house?

If I could make even $3,000 or $4,000 a month living in Pattaya my main life goal would be fulfilled. I'm in the US so the income potential is there, but I care more about the remote aspect.

Any other advice about remote salaried vs freelance paths are also welcome, thanks.

I cant help you too much on the subject since im still a regular old salaried employee in america. But i definitely have thoughts.

Im a software engineer...computer science degree and only 5 years experience so far. Im young but i work for a very competitive company in the bay area.

Pretty much everything these days is web related. It sounds like maybe you are specifically talking about front end web development? Are you learning by yourself? Any coding bootcamps or anything? Any thoughts about getting a degree?

In my opinion, which is obviously biased, is that a degree is very good to have. Much easier to break into the industry, but its not impossible without one. Youll have to probably make a portfolio and whatnot.