Support our Sponsors >> Thai Friendly | Pattaya News | Pattaya Unplugged | Buy a drink for Soi 6 Girls | Thailand 24/7 Forum | TPN Property | La La Land bar | NEW PA website | Subscribe to The Pattaya News |Pattaya Investigations | Rage Fight Academy | Buy/Sell Businesses | Isaan Lawyers | Siam Business Brokers | Belts Of Mongering - Mongering Authority | Add your Text or Event here

IGNORED

Renting for noobs

wogggy

What are things I should look out for when renting. 

I would like 9 months to a year. 

How much bond do they usually require ? Do I need to pay letting fees etc? 

What are things I should look out for when viewing rooms and meeting agents? 

I would like to stay in central patts. Just a 1br. Budget around 15k per month

I'm no expert and have never rented long term in Thailand. By doing some research on the forum you will probably find all your questions answered.

What I do know is:

1. Check rates for water/electric. Some places you get it billed by the city? Some places by the housing complex (can be way more expensive).

2. Agent fees are to be payed by the owner, not the buyer/renter.

3. By bond you mean security deposit? I guess it became illegal in Thailand, but it seems to be still often required. Usually it should be 1 months rent.

Never argue with an idiot, they drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience.

42 minutes ago, stacksreg123 said:

3. By bond you mean security deposit? I guess it became illegal in Thailand, but it seems to be still often required. Usually it should be 1 months rent.

The rule changes was down to a max of 1 month (most where charging 2 some 3) and I "think" that change only applied to people with 5 or more properties.

Two months bond seems a bit OTT. 

I suppose they are willing to negotiate on that unless they only want one month's worth. 

I've been looking at some ads on bahtsold.com and they seem pretty reasonably priced.