Support our Sponsors >> Thai Friendly | Pattaya News | Pattaya Unplugged | Buy a drink for Soi 6 Girls | Thailand 24/7 Forum | TPN Property | La La Land bar | NEW PA website | Subscribe to The Pattaya News |Pattaya Investigations | Rage Fight Academy | Buy/Sell Businesses | Isaan Lawyers | Siam Business Brokers | Belts Of Mongering - Mongering Authority | Add your Text or Event here

IGNORED

Whats the correct translation for "saving face" ?

Jumpin Jack Flash

I would love to know how the Thais themselves describe the whole concept of "saving face". 

I've tried to bring up the subject with Thais, and it never translates - you end up with something that means "face recording" or something just as dumb :P  

there must be a Thai phrase for it. Anyone know ?

I’m not an expert but I’ve done a little research and a think is: เสียหน้า (siia naa). 

2DE1F592-EF6B-4167-88C8-C03DDB342F28.jpeg

55, been thinking about this exactly for a while, was going to start a thread too. BMs who speak/understand Thai & have been going for a while should know.

................................................................................................................

I learnt there are a lot of absolute fruitcakes commenting on that link chelsea.

• Thanks 1
  • Haha 1

• 8 months later...

เสียหน้า

is what Google Translate says

I don't think its too complicated.

In social situations, when you are an individual interacting with other people in a group you have a social standing, status, others have an opinion of you.

A word for this is 'face'.

If you do something which others in the group will likely think is stupid, silly, you will loose face.   You will feel embarrased.    Blush, say sorry, conform in future.

All to do with keeping the group behaving in line with expectations I can imagine. 

Its not a unique asian, thai thing.