duckyousucker

Thai Motorcycle Helmets !

duckyousucker

During my last visit in 2013 it became apparent quite early on that the local bike helmets were next to useless. They are paper thin and would not be legal in EU/USA.

I'm intending to hire a 125cc Scooter for my full month in Thailand. I'm a ex UK bike cop with a full UK (A) licence. I realise the risks of riding the streets of Pattaya (local idiots and tourists who pass you on both sides).

I was wandering if its possible to source a proper helmet locally or whether I need to bring a cheap open face helmet with me from home? Obviously that would be a bit of a pain....

While here, can anyone point me in the direction of a good reliable Scooter hirer in Pattaya? By this I mean one that does not invent damage.

Thanks.

Hawkeye

You can buy all types of helmets in Pattaya and worth it to get a quality one as they are not too expensive so you can keep for future trips or just give away when leaving.  The ones provided when renting are just basic types which offer limited protection. 

I have rented from and can recommend Hallmark Motorbike Rentals and Pattaya Rent a Bike.  Both are expat run businesses and easy to work with.

duckyousucker

Thumbs up Hawkeye. I appreciate you taking time to reply.

I wish you well.

freedom42

I brought my own over last trip and left it with friends so I wouldn't have to lug it around. Bringing a modular full face / half face convertible over this trip for the move over.

I would say a 7-11 plastic bag would be safer on your head than most of the helmets the locals wear.

Harry Brown

Hallmark run a good reliable business, you won't get ripped off with them very reliable.

duckyousucker

Can anyone confirm exactly where I can buy a safe helmet from... By this I mean something EU/USA legal.

The local helmets are a joke. I'm surprised the Thai Government hasn't passed laws to stop these things from being made let alone sold.