IGNORED

Taking a kid out of Thailand

Gadget

In April I will be taking my daughter back to the UK for a couple of weeks, only me and her, she has both passports, but what I need to know is do I need special permission to take her back alone, baring in mind peados and all that, mothers fine with it, so that's not an issue.

Anyone been in the same boat?

Child trafficking is a big issue, along with child abduction, so some caution would be in order here. I am not an expert on Thailand, but I do know in the Philippines, where I have a 4 year old daughter, traveling through immigrations can involve proof of parental rights (birth certificate) and permission of the other parent. Philippines has a form that can be filled out by the other parent, signed and stamped. A foreigner leaving the country with a child can, and usually does, raise a few flags. Would recommend you look into those things in Thailand.

Just my experience so take it for what it is worth.

It's the one you don't hear that gets you, and the one you don't see coming that traps you.

:WinkGrin1:

Yes that's what I've heard, thanks for your reply, need to look into this.

Yes that's what I've heard, thanks for your reply, need to look into this.

Hi contact your embassy for the full monty i also think you need to show funds to support the visit, also consent from mum and her proof of ID, mate i will be moving to sri racha soon and drove thru only yesterday im back up isaan at my house so you could be a handy pal to have :GoldenSmile1: ps dont leave it to the last minute as this could take some time to sort out best get on the case monday :Think1:

• 2 weeks later...

There might be an issue if your surnames are not the same on the passports. Does she have your name or her Mums?  if not yours best to carry proof you are her father just in case.