IGNORED

Where is it?

Bones

How many times on this forum to you see the words "Where is it?" in relation to a bar, A go-go, hotel etc . . .

You can Google it! (kind of). :closedeyes:

If you've got Google Earth loaded on your machine, you can see Pattaya in what they call 'Satellite' view. Now this is where the fun (and information) starts. You can share your 'pin' locations with others. You save your 'pin' in .kml format (save as) and put the file somewhere others can load it from (the net). You can even email the 'pin' to a friend.

Now remember I'm a newbie, so the locations I've got pinned are based on information from websites, and being to Pattaya a few times (yes mainly at night and pissed) Chokdee.gif

In your 'pin' you can add extra information that is available when you click on the pin. This can include images (logo) and even a link to a website.

Here are some samples of what they look like in Google Maps (in no particular order, just click on the link) :-

TQ2

The Rock House

Lennie's

Secrets

The Cherry Bar

Catz

If you have Google Earth loaded on your machine (can be downloaded from here it's free) you can load a compiled (PKZip file .KMZ) list of 'pins' held in category folders. You can then load Pattaya Streets which also has a street image overlay. Google Earth will run offline (not connected to the internet), but will only show what you've already looked at when you was connected (it caches the information).

Now, you can load the compiled (.KMZ) in Google Maps, but it slows your browser down a bit due to the size of the Streets Image Overlay (did a quick example). But you can have a look anyway.

You can even get Google Maps on your mobile (I haven't tried this).

Now you don't just have to stop at Pattaya, its not called Google Earth for nothing :-

Nana Entertainment Plaza (NEP)

Angeles City (AC) Philippines

Subic - Philippines