IGNORED

What should I be learning?

thaimeister

Hi all,

I've been working on my first site for a couple of months now.  It's a Wordpress site which I'm using to learn the basics.  I have no previous knowledge of creating websites but have enjoyed learning as I go. The more I play around the more I want to learn.

My question is this.  Is there anything in particular I should be concentrating on to make things easier?  For example learning html code, or any specific software?  Also can anyone recommend decent books or resources to learn from.  So far I've been using online tutorials for basic html

Many Thanks

I'm no expert but since nobody else has answered you I'll try. If you have been using Wordpress there are thousands of plugins available to extend its functionality, you may be able to do everything you need just using Wordpress and plugins. If you want to code websites from scratch you will need to learn HTML & CSS, and to do anything useful probably PHP and MySQL.

Thanks gogo dog.  Wordpress has been good for learning how a basic site works.  But for future sites I'd like to have a go at something that doesn't have the "Wordpress look"

Cheers

Don't think it would hurt you at all to learn some HTML and CSS, even if you are only using Wordpress it will come in handy.

I started out using w3schools.com  from there I went onto do a course through college.  To be honest I don't think I learned much extra from the college course but nice to have a certificate I suppose.

Thanks JaiYen, I've also been using the w3schools site for tutorials and has been useful for learning the basics.

Thanks